You are here: Home / News & Events / News / 2011 News / Alumni Association Dissertation Award

Alumni Association Dissertation Award

Main Content

Edward Wilson-Ewing has been selected for a Penn State Alumni Association Dissertation Award.

He (and his research mentor, Prof. Ashtekar) will be honored at the Graduate School Alumni Society's Spring Social later this semester. Edward won the award for his work on quantum gravity, and is currently a postdoctoral researcher at the Universite de la Mediterranee et Centre de Physique Theorique de Luminy, CNRS, Marseille, France (a.k.a. CPT, Marseille).

Edward keeps up a recent PSU Physics tradition of our outstanding graduate students winning one of these awards on a very regular basis. Recent winners (and their faculty research mentors) include:

2006 -- Anthony Clark (Moses Chan)

2007 -- Elena Margine (Vin Crespi)

2008 -- Nico Yunes (Ben Owen)

2009 -- Xiao Li (David Weiss)

2010 -- Josh West (Moses Chan)

2011 -- Edward Wilson-Ewing (Abhay Ashtekar)