You are here: Home / News & Events / News / 2011 News / Dean's Climate and Diversity Award

Dean's Climate and Diversity Award

Main Content

The Eberly College of Science Climate and Diversity Committee has announced the 2011 Dean's Climate and Diversity Awards, and Ashley DaSilva and our Physics SPS (Society of Physics Students) chapter have been been recognized.

All of the awardees within the college were singled out for their "...extraordinary commitment to enhancing the College's environment of mutual respect and cooperation by improving college climate, increasing diversity, and enhancing the understanding of underrepresented groups." Ashley, a senior graduate student in Physics, was cited for her work in re-establishing the PAW (Physics and Astronomy Women) student organization, acting as their new president. She also led outreach activities, led efforts at mentoring children in a summer science camp, and provided expert knowledge to science museum exhibitors. Our PSU Society of Physics Students chapter was cited for their active role in outreach (on campus and beyond) and helping to improve the climate for undergraduate Physics majors, especially in the undergraduate lounge. Their nomination cites the leadership of their last four presidents, all female, starting with Rachel (Peet) Hanson (2005-2007, now at Epic Systems), Therese Jones (2007-2009, now at UC Berkeley), Lena Bradley (2009-2011, now at Cornell), and Blair Porterfield (2011-present). Congratulations to Ashley and all of the former and current SPS officers and members for their contributions to the Physics Department.